BEAUTY TREND REPORT: A/W 2013-14

I’ve been thinking about Christmas lately (as one does in the middle of September), and once I started counting the days (88 thank-you-very-much) I came upon the realization that it was high time for a beauty trend post for fall/winter 2013-14.

Now, it may be due to the fact that I’ve never really had the chance to experience the seasonal experience (damn you tropical weather!), but fall is my absolute favorite season when it comes to beauty and fashion.
Unfortunately, coats and cardigans are completely out of the question for me so I always try to make damn sure that I make the most out of the autumnal beauty trends.

By far my favorite recurring trend for the season! You all know how much I love my statement lipsticks so the dark, deep, burgundy shapes are just the thing for people like me who are terrified of eye shadows.

Keep this makeup look from looking too gothy by steering clear of dark eyes and just go for a tiny bit of definition on the crease and eyelashes. Then again, you could go all out and play around with eyeliner as seen above on Cara for the Louis Vuitton FW14 show.

Even though I am a lipstick girl at heart, it doesn’t mean that I don’t enjoy a bit of a sparkly lid every once in a while. Ever since I discovered the wonders of the cream eye shadows I’ve been trying to be a little bit more adventurous with my eye makeup.

I especially love the warm tones they used at Gucci and J Mendel, so perhaps a bronze eyes makeup tutorial is in order?

[Stares longingly at the amazing colorful eyes at Karen Walker and Jason Wu and fantasizes about the day I’ll pluck up the courage to give it a try while sad music plays on the background.]

…In the meantime I think I’ll stick to neon lipstick.

On a brighter note, natural makeup seems to be everywhere in the fall/winter runways. Perfect skin, barely there washes of color on the lids and sheer lip balms keep coming back every season and boy, do I like to embrace this trend.

To see how I like to get a look similar to the one seen on Valentino, make sure you check out my No Makeup Makeup Tutorial.

This classic look got twisted in so many ways during the shows, but the shape stayed roughly the same. Whether you prefer gels liquids or smokier shadows, the cat eye is such a statement, sexy look that compliments every single eye shape.

I personally love the 60’s inspired look worn by the models in Anna Sui.

Hold on to your plaid shirts and teen spirit ladies, cause the 90s are definitely making a comeback this season. Whether it’s a subtle kohl on the lower lash line (Versace) or a full on heavy smoky eye (Cavalli), this edgy look will be the perfect compliment to the tartan trend that seems to be everywhere for fall/winter.


Follow me onTwitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Facebook | Tumblr

 

 

 

One response to “BEAUTY TREND REPORT: A/W 2013-14

  1. Pingback: BOOK REC – MAN REPELLER: SEEKING LOVE, FINDING OVERALLS | CLAWS AND FANGS

Leave a Reply

