REVIEW: CLINIQUE HIGH LENGTHS MASCARA

So I recently went on a bit of a Clinique rampage and bought a couple of products I’d been wanting to get for a while now. Now, Clinique is my favorite all-round beauty brand, but even though I’d heard wonderful things about their mascaras I had yet to try one.

My original intention was to buy a new foundation (more on that later!), but seeing as I was running out of my Diorshow New Look, I thought I’d  take a look at the High Impact mascara beauty bloggers love rave about. However I was immediately drawn in by this super skinny brush that was displayed at the counter, so I decided to give it a go, and boy, was it love at first sight.

Let me just start by saying that I hate big mascara wands. I find them unnecessary and chunky and just a lot more trouble than they’re worth, so naturally I was attracted to the skinny applicator in the first place. It basically does everything it’s supposed to do: lengthens the lashes significantly, separates them and adds much more volume than I was expecting while remaining clump-free. It’s also very buildable; you can easily go from a very natural look to a more dramatic one with a heavier application.

I was a little hesitant to purchase when I saw there wasn’t a waterproof version; while I don’t have particularly oily eye-lids, I do live in a very hot and humid place. However this mascara does. notbudge. I don’t know what makes the formula so amazing (sorcery?), but it lasts all day on me without smudging or flaking, holds a curl fantastically, and doesn’t irritate my ultra sensitive eyes.

I will definitely be re-purchasing this as soon as I run out; it’s become one of my absolute favorites in the short while I’ve had it, and while the price is not on pair with a drugstore mascara, I find that compared to other high end brands, the difference in cost is not painfully big and completely worth it.

Leave a Reply

