TOP 8 SUMMER LIP PRODUCTS

Let’s start off by saying that even though I live in a place in which perpetual summer is actually a thing, I still get sucked into the seasonal trends when it comes to makeup. I mean, something’s gotta give, right? After all, winter outerwear, or even cardigans (!) are simply impossible to wear when you live in the caribbean.

So without further ado, here are my favorite lip products for this summer:

REVLON

First off, I have to say that for this summer, Revlon’s been my go-to brand when it comes to lip products. They’ve been killing it not only with their wide range of shades, but also the different formulations of all their products; lipsticks, glosses, lip butters, lip stains, they’ve got it all. And, while their prices may not be the lowest among drugstore products, I think it’s safe to say that it’s worth every single penny when you’re spending a fraction of what you normally would for a higher end lipstick, without giving up its quality.

Super Lustrous Lipcolor in ‘Fuchsia Fusion’: 

I only just rediscovered this bright fuchsia on my makeup collection a few days ago when I was looking out for products to feature on this post. Needless to say, I’ve been wearing it every day since. It’s very creamy and pigmented, has blue undertones to it and a pearly finish. I find it doesn’t dry out my lips at all but still manages to be quite long lasting, even on a hot and humid summer day.

Colorbust Lipgloss in ‘Papaya:

I often reach for this lipgloss when I can’t be bothered with a bright lipstick and I want a more natural look. Now, I’m not much of a glossy gal. I abhor the sticky texture on my lips and hate that white cast that most of them leave in the corners of my mouth. However, this lipgloss does none of those things! It has a super lightweight texture and wears off evenly, not to mention the peachy color is super flattering and just pigmented enough to brighten my entire face up.

Colorburst Lip Butter in ‘Tutti Frutti’:

It looks as if everyone and their mother seems to be talking about this product, and now that I’ve finally gotten a hold of one, I can definitely see what all the buzz is about. The lip butter is basically a highly pigmented lip balm, and this bright orange shade is the perfect thing to throw on on its own with a little bit of mascara for a super quick, yet fashionable look. I do have to say the texture is a bit unforgiving when it comes to chapped lips, so make sure to exfoliate them beforehand to avoid bumps of flaky skin.

Matte Lipstick in ‘Pink About It’:

And last for Revlon, but definitely not least, this matte lipstick in the shade Pink About It, (more of a true coral if you ask me) has got to be my ultimate favorite shade. Sadly, though, it seems as though it has been discontinued, but it’s still around on some of the Revlon counters I’ve been to recently, and you can easily find it online. As with the lip butter you have to exfoliate before applying, and the matte textue, while really long lasting, can be a bit drying, so just make sure to moisturize before and after putting it on.

COVERGIRL Jumblo Gloss Balm in ‘Watermelon Twist’:

Less pigmented than the lip butter but a whole lot more forgiving when it comes to dry lips. This bubblegum pink feels very moisturizing and glossy on the lips without it being sticky. Not very long lasting but very easily applied even without a mirror.

NYX Jumbo Lip Pencil in ‘Plush Red:

Now, some may say that red lipstick is more of a winter thing, but let’s be real for a second, and ask ourselves if there’s ever a time in which a cherry red lip seems off for whatever reason…

That’s what I thought.

The reason why I love this NYX pencil is because it feels very lightweight on the lips, and while I am all for red lipstick in the summer time, I hate feeling too made up when it’s hot out. The formula is very pigmented and moisturizing, so not the most long lasting of lipsticks but it suits absolutely everyone.

YSL Rouge Pure Shine Sheer in ‘Bohemia Rose:

I’ll try not to gush too much about this one, since it’s sadly discontinued. The texture is so light weight you can barely feel you’ve got anything on. The color is super flattering and the finish is glossy with a hint of a gold frost that feels anything but cheap. The texture is quite similar to the YSL’s Volupté Sheer Candy though, so if you can’t get a hold of this one, you might want to give that one a try.

MAC Pro Longwear Lipcreme in ‘Love Forever!’:

It’s all in the name, really. MAC’s everlasting Pro Longwear formulations last for ages on the lips before needing a touch up, and ‘Love Forever!’ was the first high end lipstick I ever bought so needless to say, it has a very special place in my heart. This shade of pink looks especially amazing when you have a tan or on olive skinned gals. The formula can be very drying so once again, make sure you carry a lip balm around to add some moisture to your lips throughout the day.

 

Leave a Reply

