TUTORIAL: CRANBERRY SMOKY EYES

This one’s so easy I feel guilty just calling it a tutorial. But the deep cranberries and burgundies are sweeping the beauty world and I’m here to give you a few tricks on how to rock the red-toned eyeshadow like the models at the Gucci show without really trying.

So I was very thorough with my base and concealer. I didn’t wear loads but I did use it very strategically. When you’re working with red tones like this one you want to make the face look as flawless as possible so that the red in the eyeshadow doesn’t highlight the red in any spots you might have.

Now for the eyebrows I didn’t want it to look as if I’d done a whole lot to them so I just filled the uneven bits and brushed them upwards to make them look thicker. If you want a more detailed post about how I fill in my eyebrows make sure tocheck out my tutorial.

I kept it really simple with this one. I just used a flat brush to apply  Maybelline’s Color Tattoo in Pomegranate Punk inside the dotted line and on the outer third of my lower lash line and then I blend it into a nice winged shape with a clean finger.

This cream product is so easy to work with there’s really no need for tons of brushes. Especially considering that we’re trying to get a sort of grungy, lived-in kind of look. And if you’re wondering as to where to place that wing in your eyeshadow, just remember it should point to the end of your eyebrow.

Now the trick to keep red eyeshadow from looking like a bad case of pink eye is to use a black pencil to line both your lower and upper waterline as well as the roots of the lashes. This  creates a barrier between the red and your eye as well as adding some definition. Don’t worry about making it a perfect line cause you’re gonna blend it either with a brush or a cotton bud.

I used Revlon’s ColorStay eyeliner but it burned my eyes like hell after wearing it for a couple of minutes so I’d be weary of it if you have sensitive eyes like mine.

I then curled my eyeslahes and applied a most generous amount of my favorite mascara: the Clinique’s High Lengths.

If you want to know why I love it so much make sure to check out the review I did a couple of months ago.

Since I wanted this look to be super edgy I decided to skip blush and just went to town with the contouring. I used MAC’s Harmony and applied it to my temples, hollows of my cheeks and underneath my jaw line to slim down the face and add a little more dimension and color to the face.

And last but not least, I used a baby pink lip gloss from Victoria’s Secret on the center of my lips and then I blended it out with the tip of my finger to keep it from looking too glossy and made up.

And that’s pretty much it! I told you it was super simple! It’s a great look for a night out, especially if you’re a little short on time or if you want to transform your daytime look into something a little more suited for the evening. Just carry around the eyeshadow and some more mascara and you’re done!

Let me know what you think about this look and please send me any questions or suggestions you might have!

Follow me onTwitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Facebook | Tumblr

 

3 responses to “TUTORIAL: CRANBERRY SMOKY EYES

  1. I like the pink.

  2. Pingback: REVIEW: MAYBELLINE COLOR TATTOO | CLAWS AND FANGS

  3. Pingback: BOOK REC – MAN REPELLER: SEEKING LOVE, FINDING OVERALLS | CLAWS AND FANGS

Leave a Reply

