TUTORIAL: LANA DEL REY

Love her or hate her, you can’t deny Lana del Rey’s makeup is always on point. Inspired by the makeup in the 60’s, this look requires a pretty heavy hand with mascara and a super sharp cat-eye flick.

It’s definitely a lot more makeup than I’m used to wearing, but it’s just one of those timeless makeup looks that makes you feel instantly glamourous and sexy. So without further ado, here’s how to recreate Lana’s look:

First of all, In order to get Lana’s perfect complexion I mixed a little bit of myClinique All About Eyes concealer with the Maybelline Dream Fresh BB Cream. That way I was able to get the coverage I needed while still managing to make it look fresh.

I dabbed a little of the peachy corrector in the Oriflame Conceal Kit trio underneath my eyes to brighten the area. The peach undertones in this concealer neutralizes the blue undertones of dark circles.

As for the brows I just did my regular brow routine, but I did amp up the intensity a little bit to get that very strong and defined 50s brow look that I always see on her. I used the Yanbal eyebrow duo and an Eco-Tools angled brush.

The eyeshadow in this look is quite simple. It’s all about adding definition and depth to the contours of your eye socket. First off, use an eyeshadow that matches the color of your skin all over the eyelid with a large fluffy blush and after that, dip the tip of a smaller tapered brush into a darker shade and sweep it about halfway along the outer half of your crease. We’re looking to contour the eye so make sure the eyeshadows you use are matte so that they not only resemble the shades that Lana often wears, but also have the appearance of a natural shadow.

And now for the eyeliner. The first thing you want to do is to map out the direction in which you want the wing of your cat eye to go. The trick here is to take a sharp pencil (Rimmel Scandal Eyes in Black) and draw a little dot to guide you in the process. The best way to do that is while looking straight into the mirror with your eyes open, and if you’re still not certain on where the point of your cat eye should go, then the best thing to do is to imagine an invisible line between the corner of your eye and the outer tip of your eyebrow. The length of the flick itself is completely up to you!

Next, while still looking straight into the mirror, draw a line from the guide point to the outer corner of your eye using the same pencil, and then another line that goes from that same point to form a kind of triangle shape on the outer corner of your eyelid.

And then using the No. 7 Stay Precise Liquid Liner I just filled in the shape and lined the rest of my lash line. Remember to make sure that the line thins out as it goes further in and to really fill in every little gap in between the lashes so that you’re not left with a bare strip of flesh that’ll ruin the effect the liner is supposed to give you. And if you make a mistake, just take a q-tip with a little bit of makeup remover and correct the mistake.

Using the same black pencil I lined my upper waterline to make the eyes look even more dramatic. This tip is especially useful to those people with a small amount of lid space and hooded eyes since it will make a thiner eyeliner look much thicker than it actually is. Make sure that you use a waterproof product to keep the black from transferring to your lower waterline.

And then with that same black pencil I lined about a third of my outer lower lash line and blended it out with a small brush to smoke it out a bit.

This is the kind of look which requires you to go big or go home in the mascara department. Lana is often seen wearing false eyelashes but let’s face it: false lashes are a hassle. So instead, I just added tons of Benefit’s They’re Real to make up for it, only make sure you brush them through with a lash comb to avoid clumping.

Add a tiny bit of a peachy blush to the apples of the cheeks without going too overboard. Lana’s sultry look does not require a flushed looking complexion. I used the Esteé Lauder Signature blusher in Rosette.

And last but definitely not least, I applied my favorite nude lip color: the Clinique Long Last Lipstick in Creamy Nude. I absolutely love this lipstick cause while it’s matte it doesn’t dry out the lips.

And that’s it! Let me know if there’s any other celebrity inspired look you’d like me to recreate!


Follow me onTwitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Facebook | Tumblr

7 responses to “TUTORIAL: LANA DEL REY

  1. Amazing look! This really looks like the shape of Lana’s eyes! What do you think of the newest makeup look she’s been rocking with the extreme under-eye smudge with black glitter shadow?

  2. Pingback: A HAIR CARE NOOB | CLAWS AND FANGS

  3. Such a beautiful look! I especially love the nude lippie. Being a bright lover it’s kind of new territory for me. I have to try Creamy Nude when I’m next near a Clinique counter 🙂

  4. Pingback: FAKING MY WAY TO THE PERFECT COMPLEXION | CLAWS AND FANGS

Leave a Reply

