A HAIR CARE NOOB

IMG_9501Let me just start this by saying that I am completely new to all things hair care. I don’t reeaally take much care of things up there. I just iron it every time I wash it and I don’t even bother with a heat protectant most of the times which apparently is the beauty equivalent of parking in a disabled space. But lately it’s just been hanging there looking dull and boring which can be especially distressing whenever you binge watch Made in Chelsea with clenched fists because you want hair like that, goddammit!

So I went on a quest for products that would help me get the volume and texture I wanted without having to spend ages doing my hair, and I think I found the perfect routine with the following products.

JCFKN

I won’t bother talking to you about shampoo and conditioner cause those basically change all the time and I just grab whatever’s nearest to me (I said I’m working on it!). So I’ll just jump at what happens after I’ve gotten out of the shower.

Tangle Teezer (~$12)

I sincerely hope you aren’t expecting some big science-y explanation of h0w this works cause I honestly have no idea. This brush has been surrounded by a hype big enough to make me skeptic about buying it. Luckily for me, my aunt got it for me a couple of months ago and I must say I have been utterly converted.

I have really fine hair that gets tangled very easily, but this brush manages to get rid of knots like it’s nobody’s business. I don’t know the physics behind it (witchcraft?) but it has made brushing my hair a much easier task.

Bumble and Bumble’s Surf Spray ($15 for the mini and $26 for the full sized)

I’ve been stealing this from my sister only for the past two weeks and I’ve already fallen in love with this baby.  It was love at first spray, plain and simple. I just spritz  it all over damp hair and it just gives the most amazing texture and volume to my hair. The price is a little steep for my liking which has kept me from actually purchasing it, but let’s be real, it’s only a matter of time before I finally cave and buy the full size to take back home with me.

L’Oreal Elnett Etra Strong Hold Hairspray (~$12)

I’ve been really into the whole Gisele, beachy wave kind of look but sadly, my hair can’t hold a curl. Like at all. So I really need the extra strong hold that this hairspray delivers without leaving your hair looking like you just came out of a Toddler’s and Tiara’s convention. As long as you use it sparingly that is (a lesson I learned the ugly way). The only downside I find with this, is the powdery, lingering smell but if you need something that’s heavy duty, you might want to give this a try.

Not Your Mother’s Clean Freak Dry Shampoo (~$6)

With thin hair comes big responsibility; namely washing it all the time so I don’t end up looking like freaking Snape. Luckily for those of us who have greasier hair dry shampoo is actually a thing that exists, and the Not Your Mother’s one is fabulous at absorbing all the excess oil from your roots without leaving a white residue or a overtly powdery finish to your hair.

I basically kind of section my hair and spray this onto my roots, let it sit for a while and then massage the excess off with my fingers and a brush. It will seriously leave your 3 day-old hair looking fresh.

And that’s pretty much it! Still no word on the heat protection or the perfect shampoo/conditioner combo but perhaps it’s just a matter of time? And please let me know what your favorite products are in the comments!

Related articles

3 responses to “A HAIR CARE NOOB

  1. Hey! I just did a current hair product post and video! Check it out for some recommendations 🙂

  2. Pingback: BOOK REC – MAN REPELLER: SEEKING LOVE, FINDING OVERALLS | CLAWS AND FANGS

  3. Pingback: REVIEW: BURT’S BEES CUCUMBER & SAGE CLEANSING WIPES | CLAWS AND FANGS

Leave a Reply

