BOOK REC – MAN REPELLER: SEEKING LOVE, FINDING OVERALLS

fdg

There’s never been a time in which I haven’t repelled men, but I only became aware of being a full blown Man Repeller when a guy once claimed to dislike me because my lipstick was “too red”.*

*It wasn’t. In fact, he was referring to it being too dark, not red. I was going through a goth-chic faze, and really dark plums were everything.

Up until that point, I’d been more preoccupied with mimicking the beauty looks I saw on the runway than with making myself look appealing to men; and even though I couldn’t have cared less about this particular croc-wearing dude’s opinion, I started to think too much about all the stuff I was doing that might be driving away the members of the opposite sex.

Pictured above: the culprit for my lack of game.

Don’t get me wrong, no one could ever possibly tear me away from my bright lipsticks and offensive boyfriend jeans, but it’s taken me reading this book to truly own up to my status as an empowered man repeller and to stop wearing that amazing Dior Addict lipstick only out of spite and do it out of love.

Leandra Medine’s book is a freaking gem. It’s almost like having a late-night conversation with an über fashionable and hilarious friend about a wide range of subject including, but not limited to, sex, fashion, work and boogers. It’s not one of those self-help books by any stretch of the imagination, but in a way, it has made me realize that man-repelling is not about dressing up thinking ‘how am I going to get guys to hate the way I look?’; it’s about preferring to look cool over looking appealing and being empowered by the decision to do so. A fantastic read for those of you who’d rather wear a 5-inch heel than making a man feel better about his tiny personality.

“It is enlightening, albeit intimidating, to think how much control we have over our own lives. But understanding it and treasuring it—treating it like the powerful entity that it is—is the key to happiness.”

Leandra Medine, 2013.

You can also check out her blog The Man Repeller here.

Leave a Reply

