FAKING MY WAY TO THE PERFECT COMPLEXION

If you’re here to read about the perfect eye cream or the holy grail moisturizer we’ve all been praying for then read no further cause, as it happens, I’m still trying to figure this whole skin care thing out. I mean who has the time for a 5-step day and night routine on top of 8 glasses of water a day? Not me, that’s who.

This is actually the face of skin care neglect and a weak bladder.

Luckily for people like me, there are amazing makeup products out there that can make a picture like the one shown above possible. And so, without further ado, I present to you the 4 products that I’ve been using this summer to get that flawless, yet fresh looking face we all wish we had.

REVLON COLORSTAY CONCEALER in Light Medium (~$9.00)

mk

I’ve already talked about my love for this concealer. It’s feels light on the skin, it doesn’t cake and it lasts really well on the skin. I’ve been using it instead of a base most days on the places I have any sort of pigentation: around the nose, chin, and under my eyes, and it just manages to give me enough coverage while still looking radiant and summer ready.

LAURA MERCIER SECRET CAMOUFLAGE in SC3 (~$32.00)

gb

I’ve been wanting this baby since the first time I saw Lisa Eldridge whip it out during one of her youtube tutorials (we’re not worthy!). I finally caved and bought it last month and I have to say that  it’s worth every single penny.

I’ve been using it with the Elf concealer brush (only $1.00!) and dabbing a small amount of product on anything my base could not cover. It has a dry texture so it’s really long lasting, and if you use it right (i.e. sparingly and avoiding the under-eye area) it’s never going to look heavy and will soon become your best ally when it comes to faking a spotless complexion.

REVLON PHOTOREADY CREAM BLUSH in Coral  Reef (~$10.00)

rev

This is the perfect example of the stereotypical summer product: creamy, coral and a little scary on the pan but fresh and natural on the face. The thing I like the most about this cream blusher is the fact that it’s not as greasy as the others which makes it possible for people with oilier skin to get away with it.

A bright, shocking coral on the pot, actually becomes a super natural shade once it’s blended (which is also super easy to do since it does’t set like a stain). The only down side to it is that the color doesn’t last as much as a powder would, but then again if durability is what you’re looking for then you’re probably better off with a cheek stain.

CHANEL LES BEIGES HEALTHY GLOW SHEER COLOR (~$60)

j

I already feel as if I have to justify myself for the price tag on this one but I’ll just say this: I was at the airport, emotions were running high and it was like $10 off the original price without the tax, so…

Anyway, I’m happy to tell you that even though I’m not much of a powder kind of girl, I absolutely fell in love with this product. My problem with most powders is that they all end up making my skin look dull and flat, so more often than not, I’d skip setting my base and concealer, which can be a very bad thing when you live in a place that’s only slightly less humid than the freaking ocean.

I just dust a small amount of it down my t-zone and under my eyes with the handy little brush that it comes with, which helps my makeup last longer without giving me that dated, heavy, super powdery look that I try to avoid at all costs.

And that’s pretty much it! Make sure to let me know how you fake the perfect skin.

4 responses to “FAKING MY WAY TO THE PERFECT COMPLEXION

  1. plus+beauty27

    That cream blush is gorgeous! 🙂

  2. I think I’m going to have to invest in the Revlon concealer! My foundation and eyeshadows are from the same range and I looove them. I like using a Lancome highlighter too, my skin is so pale that anything to perk it up a bit and give it a bit more definition is worth it for me!

  3. Pingback: REVIEW: BURT’S BEES CUCUMBER & SAGE CLEANSING WIPES | CLAWS AND FANGS

  4. Lisa is such an enabler, haha. I’ve had the Secret Camouflage Concealer on my wishlist for some time. Good to read some more positive feedback 🙂 As for powders I’m not much of a fan either, however I did buy Chanel Les Beiges for all the same reasons.

Leave a Reply

